Zoey

Hello world!

In Finding a best friend, Shelley and Zoey on June 16, 2010 at 2:57 am

As a nine-week-old puppy, I got to choose where I live. I remember being in a mall pet store, shaking just slightly, especially after a shih tzu climbed all over me just to prove he was alpha dog. I figured what was the point. There was the two of us, and I was missing my mommy, so I didn’t care what he thought. I didn’t understand why I was in a cage with all these people looking at me. At that time, I didn’t have very well developed language, but I did have the sensation that something was very wrong. I kept getting held and kissed and these sounds kept coming at me, oohh, aahh, so cute.

And then they, my human mommy and her human mommy came. My new human mommy held me. I snuggled against her chest, and her heartbeat was just right, slower than mine, but true and real. I told her I loved her already. She held me up and I stared back into her brown eyes, the same color as mine. I said, you’re mine, take me home. And she did. She drove me to my house that’s at the end of a short, windy road near a horse pasture with a view of the mountains. She put me on the floor in my living room, and I sniffed around, prancing with the confidence that I knew this place: home. The wrong thing was not so anymore. I had a place to be me: an 8.6-pound miniature dachshund that is cute as a button, or cute as my pink furry bone, whatever that cliché is.

Leave a Reply

