Zoey

Training, a matter of perspective

In Dog communication, No is a bad word, Training pains, Who's Alpha DOG? on July 12, 2010 at 3:06 am

As if I need training! I know what the word “no” means, like duh. It’s short and very clear. It means stop what you’re doing, but I don’t necessarily want to stop what I’m doing.

First off, the whole potty thing was silly. You just do it where you find the right spot and circle around to get into the right position. It doesn’t matter if it’s inside or out. It just is.

Plus, I got sick of hearing “no,” getting squirted with water and all of the other forms of punishment Mommy inflicted on me. She didn’t understand how it was. I did, though. I barked at the door, and then I got let out. I barked at the door, and I got let in. And then I did it all day long, in and out, the door opening and closing, and it was so cool because it was like I was in two places at once. I had my dog friends to bark with outside. And inside, I could watch the horses when I sat on the arm of the easy chair in the living room. Or I could grab a snack from my Kong or go for cuddles and pets.

But then I would hear a dog bark, and I wanted to go back outside to bark back, because I can’t text a bark. We dogs communicate from yard to yard, au natural, not via electronic devices that take away the free, outdoorsy feel of living.

We also chew. We are philosophical about it: I am a dog, therefore I chew. But when I was a puppy, I did not know what was chew appropriate and what wasn’t. It had to be pointed out to me with “no,” “no” and “no!” I liked chewing furniture because it’s really big and if I can alter the shape of something, I’ve proven my creative abilities, but I had to give up that habit. Those “no’s” really got to me. They are so negative, and I’m all about positive energy. I want to be petted and loved 24-7, so I let Mommy think she’s alpha dog, but I know I still am because I am the one who chooses to be good. She didn’t make me. I did it on my own.

Leave a Reply

