Zoey

Weekend Friends, Part I

In Best friends, Dog communication on August 15, 2010 at 2:46 am

My mommy put my food dish, a bag of my food and my toys, including Bunny and Lenny the leopard, into a canvas bag. What are you doing? What are you doing? I repeated in my barking as I ran around Mommy’s legs.

Mommy went outside with my bag and her bags, shutting me out of the outdoors. I jumped up on my chair and looked out the picture window in the living room window. Mommy, see me here! I wagged my tail as she came back to the door. I jumped off the chair and circled around her feet. Take me!

And she did after saying goodbye to her mommy.

We drove in a car for a really, really long time, but it didn’t seem too long after I decided to sleep on Mommy’s lap.

We arrived in another place and Mommy’s dad, who I met before many times, gave Mommy a hug.

“Hi sweetie,” he said to me.

I smiled my doggy smile back and wagged my tail. He petted me like I asked. He carried me while Mommy carried her stuff into another house that wasn’t mine. Mommy’s brother and a girl who said I was cute and petted me, too, were there.

And so was Sophie! Sophie’s my new friend, a 1-year-old golden retriever, who I met a few days before. We touched noses and ran and ran and played and I rolled onto my back. I know I’m the smaller dog and am supposed to be submissive. And I did do that.

Leave a Reply

