Zoey

Friendship Problems

In Let's be friends, Looking for friends, Puppy kindergarten, Zoey and Sophie on September 19, 2010 at 8:20 am

Sophie and I are at play.

Mommy doesn’t like it when I won’t share my toys with my golden retriever friend Sophie, even though I play with hers. I like her stuffed bone the best. It’s more my size, not Sophie’s.

I want to tell Mommy that I haven’t learned the concept of sharing. That comes in kindergarten!

I do, however, share my food, and it is so sneaky of us. I eat Sophie’s food, and she eats mine, so that we get to experience new cuisine that way.

And then after all the fun, our visit ends. I wish I could take Sophie home, but she has to stay at her house. I need a 24-7 friend, not only when Mommy schedules them for me. How can I get this message to her?

Woof! Woof! I say as I see another dog in the lap of a driver, like me, as Mommy and I head to my house. We lift our chins and bark and bark. Then my other new dog friend is gone around a corner.

Where did she go?

I didn’t make friends, though, when I had the chance in puppy kindergarten (this is where you learn commands and tricks, not sharing). I was scared and overwhelmed. The dogs were mostly big and, at the time, I didn’t know what to do. I was in a situation where my play bow and my submissive pet-me position probably wouldn’t work with all the big alpha puppies.

Instead, I turned around and looked out the store window and watched the people walk by. I considered that to be fun. I was too scared to bark at them, so I sat by, hoping they would look my way and see that I’m way cute.

Leave a Reply

