Zoey

Rabble Rouser

In Back yard princess, Dog communication, Let's be friends, Woof! Woof! on November 14, 2010 at 8:40 am

 My mom Shelley and her mom call me a rabble rouser. What does that even mean? I don’t have a doggie dictionary to look up the word. I can’t bark out my question. What am I to do?

Sure, I want friends. What cute girl dachshund doesn’t want friends?

I have a friend across the fence at Shelley’s mom’s house. She’s a white mixed breed, and when I hear her bark, I bark and rush to the door to be let out back. I run to the fence and bark, and the girl dog and I run along the fence, saying hello, hello, how are you!!! The girl dog gets in trouble and a man yells her name, and she has to go inside.

I like to bark when I’m outside. I’m here, I’m saying. Come on over, and we can play, I add.

And I get barks back.

I run to the other side of the house, where there are three big dogs. I bark at them. Let’s play, I say.

When I’m inside the house or Shelley’s apartment, I bark when I hear unfamiliar noises, people talking or other dogs barking. I’m just responding to my environment, but Shelley says, “No!” or “Stop!” and being somewhat obedient, I stop for five seconds and restart my end of the conversation.

Oh no, it’s the water bottle. I am quiet now, a good girl trying to keep her bark inside. But barks need to be outside, out loud and in the world where they can be heard, a conversation without pause when we are all engaged.

Leave a Reply

