Zoey

Anti-shy

In Dog communication, Going on walks, Inclusion, Looking for friends, The importance of play on November 28, 2010 at 8:48 pm

I’m not shy, of course, but I am in want of many friends; like today when I met a mixed breed named Sparky. We were both out on walks with our owners, and we both wanted to do our smell-each-other’s-butts greeting. We did our circle-about dance, and just as we were ready to get into the serious business of play, Sparky’s owner said, “Come on, let’s go, Sparky.”

I chased after Sparky, moving my legs faster than the leash would allow, but Shelley wouldn’t let me meet up with my new friend, no matter how hard I tried.

Fortunately, I saw my friend again when we were on another block, and Shelley and the guy with Sparky let us re-greet and play, but only for about five minutes.

The problem is I’m very social and do not get enough attention. I need it 24-7, minus the time I’m sleeping. What I do get is being left home alone for eight hours while Shelley’s at work. She stops in for her breaks, but that’s still four plus four hours of aloneness. And then when Shelley comes home, she has to make dinner and do all these things before she plays with me.

I need stimulation. I need friends. And I need to feel included and a part of things. I don’t need to be sitting around on my day bed, moping and waiting for the click of the key in the doorknob.

I am what you call hail-fellow-well-met, but put in princess for the “fellow” part.

With all of my social skills, I still can take a beaten-dog approach when I see the vacuum cleaner or don’t want a leash put on me. I want to run free. I want to be my own dog. I have an owner, and she’s making all the rules. It’s not fair. I can’t be myself, at least for eight hours when the only exciting thing to do is sleep or try to figure out the sources of all the noises. I like looking out the window here and there. But it’s calling out to the emptiness that my barking becomes, a meaningless banter when what I need is to play, play, play!

Leave a Reply

