Zoey

Not a Lap Dog

In Chasing smells, Lap dog, Looking for friends, Wanting to explore on December 12, 2010 at 8:20 pm

I am not a lap dog.

Let me repeat, I am not a lap dog.

First off, I’m very long in body. I’m a dachshund, and I’m not designed to lie on laps, unless I curl up and rest my head on a knee or my paws. This is comfortable, but only if I’m in the mood for napping. If not, I want to look around and explore what’s happening in my environment. I can’t see anything if I’m hanging off somebody’s lap with my head pointing toward the floor.

Second, I have better things to do. I want to check out smells and the source of sounds. I want to walk around and see what things in the coffee shop might be good for chewing. Or I want to see if there is someone who wants to pet me and tell me how cute I am.

In a word, I just want to be.

I don’t think just being is very fun if all you’re doing is sitting on a lap, checking out the floor.

Therefore, I conclude, I am a busy blur that likes to run, play, chase balls and find new things, like friends.

I am a pal dog, in other words.

Leave a Reply

