Zoey

A Dog’s Christmas

In Discoveries, Doggie Teddy Bears, Holidays, Presents on December 26, 2010 at 9:44 am

I don’t know what Christmas is because I’m a dog and dogs don’t do traditions and holidays and stuff.

The week before Christmas Day – the day I got three presents – Shelley carried me in my pink bag at an outdoor shopping center that allows dogs. She took me in some of the stores, where I got pets and told I was cute, because who can resist a long-haired dachshund.

When we got home, Shelley wrapped the presents using paper rolled up on a tube of cardboard. I tried to help, jumping on the paper. I liked the crinkly sound it made until Shelley pushed me off, saying, “I need to wrap this up.”

She took out a doggie teddy bear that I knew was mine, and I grabbed it and ran. I squeaked the squeaker in the bear’s belly, and Shelley laughed.

“Now you know what you’re getting for Christmas,” she said.

And then somehow my bear was gone.

I got it back, though, on Christmas Day. Shelley and her mom, dad, brother and her brother’s girlfriend all got small piles of presents. And I got my pile.

“Start it for her,” Shelley’s mom said.

Shelley ripped a tear into the middle of the snowflake-covered paper, and I worked at it with my teeth. Is this a new toy, I thought, and then I saw my toy, grabbed it and ran. I don’t want this bear to disappear.

Next, I got a meat-centered rawhide, but I only got to eat half of it before it disappeared.
“If she eats that, she’ll probably get sick,” Shelley’s mom said.

My rawhide disappeared and returned the next day. I didn’t have the energy to eat it after running around and playing with everyone on Christmas. I do that, I play myself out and have to rest up the next day.

The third present I never got to see. “She’ll probably want to eat this, too,” Shelley said. “I’ll give it to her later.”

When is later? I’m waiting for later, and it is later, the day after Christmas. Oh well, it doesn’t matter, I’m sleeping next to Shelley as she writes her blog.

Leave a Reply

