Zoey

Couch Surfing

In All About Me, Center of attention, Dog communication, Play time, What's important, Who's Alpha DOG? on February 27, 2011 at 8:54 am

I am glad Shelley finished with her novel. That means she’ll have more time to spend with me. I am trying to give her the message that she spends too much time working, but she’s not getting it.

She comes home at 5 or 6 every night, puts her bag on the floor and calls for me. She finds me either in the living room or on her bed (I mean our bed) and gives me kisses and lots of pets.

But then she puts something in the microwave or she does something that doesn’t involve me. In response, I hide under the bed or the couch and put my head on my paws, staring out at her feet. I see her face as she gets on her hands and knees.

“Are you going to come out? Do you want to go on a walk?”

“No,” I tell her with my eyes.

Even so, she’s tricked me by eating cheese and, of course, I come out, and she gives me a piece and as I start to chew, she grabs me and puts on my harness and leash. Or she throws a ball, and I chase it and out comes the leash.

The whole problem that I have is we do things when Shelley wants to do them, like when we go on walks. It’s not like she understands that when we wake up in the morning, I don’t want her to leave. I want her to play with me or take me places where I can play with other people and get their kisses all day long. For a couple of hours, we do go on walks and visit dog-friendly places, but for a short time measured against the many hours of her disappearance.

I don’t like that she’s making the rules, which goes against my alpha dog status. So under the couch I go to pout.

Leave a Reply

