Zoey

Canine Poetry

In Looking for friends, Loud barks on March 27, 2011 at 8:18 am

I turn the fence into blurring crosshatches

Until a bird sings, sound floating

Off the swish of steady flapping.

I slow each step, an easing of paws

On stiff brown grass,

Wishing for –

I raise my head

As the lifting takes away –

In my silent approach

I could chase air things

Get them grounded –

But off I go again,

As if a ship sailing circles

Enclosing possibilities

Until the next bird comes along,

Hope in its wings.

Leave a Reply

