Zoey

Nearly Two-and-a-Half Paws

In Uncategorized on May 1, 2011 at 8:15 am

My birthday is Dec. 20, 2008.

I’m not worried that I will be three. Right now, I’m enjoying being two.

People who stop me on my leash walks ask if I’m still a puppy. Technically, I stopped being a puppy at one or two depending on who you talk to, but I act and feel like a puppy.

Here’s an example: I was in Mandolin Café on Friday, playing with the owner’s son, who just turned three. He kept throwing his ball that’s a little bigger than my toy balls. I’d bound after it and try to pick it up, but the ball was way too big. I pushed it with my nose but couldn’t get it back to him, so I gave up and ran back for more play. He giggled and I overheard several people say, “She’s so cute.”

I am cute.

Okay, one more example: I engage Shelley in a game of chase when she comes home for work, when she wants us to go to bed and I don’t want to, and whenever I grab one of her socks. I get all excited and pant and make my happy sound (a barking squeal) and run, change direction and hide.

“Where’s Zoey?” Shelley calls as she tries to find me, her best friend as I’ve heard through the paw-vine.

I feel like every day is play day, all about fun and just being my young, vibrant self.

I can have my doggie ice cream and eat it, too. It’s got bones in the ice cream scoop, like way too cool, or cold, I should say.

Leave a Reply

