Zoey

Paws-itive Empathy

In Dog comfort, Dog communication, Empathy on June 26, 2011 at 7:34 am

I did my part. I comforted Shelley when she cried by looking at her with a question in my eyes, saying, What can I do? What do you need?

Wiggling my way up to her on our bed, I kissed her and licked at her tears. They tasted good, with that yummy salty stuff. I cuddled in close to her side, and she started petting me.

Sniffle, sniffle, I heard.

And then she got out the cell phone thingy (I hate electronic devices because Shelley pays attention to them and not me) and called her mom.

“Do you want to get coffee?” Shelley said.

Sniffle, sniffle, a nose blow (hey, I want that tissue!) and then my bag got packed up and in the car we go to Shelley’s mom’s house. I gave her mom a kiss party (multiple kisses at once as if on repeat) and turned to make sure Shelley didn’t do that sniffling thing. She didn’t.

I got a treat, and then they were gone.

When they get back, I hope Shelley doesn’t cry because, as they say, the grass is greener on this side of the fence (because that’s where I am). Plus it’s sunny.

Shelley just needs to realize that if it doesn’t work out digging one hole, dig another. If you’re barking up the wrong tree, there are other trees out there. And if a tree’s a little shady, find a tree with better character.

  1. Zoey,
    That last paragraph was the best advice Shelly could have gotten. You’re smart AND cute (Just like Shelly)!

Leave a Reply

