Zoey

Staging Pets

In All About Me, Center of attention, Pet me on July 24, 2011 at 12:28 pm

I am always in the now, but that’s because I’m a dog.

The last thing I am is shy. That’s because I need people to pet me.

I’m not afraid of the stage either. It’s all around me, wherever I am. I prance as I walk. Or I look ahead, scoping out those who will pet me. I slow when we cross paths, wagging my tail and panting. If they stop, I am the center of attention, at least for a few minutes.

If I’m on a table at a coffee shop, I look around and if people are approaching, I sit up straighter, wiggle a little and stretch out my neck, as if saying, “Here’s your personal invitation to pet me.”

And boy do I get the pets. But that’s not all. It’s like I’m hearing inquiries for autographs. “She’s so cute!” “Is she a puppy?” (Actually, I’m 2 and ½, but I show my age well). And, “Is she a purebred?” (Well, of course, I want to say as I stick my snout in the air, but I don’t because of my good manners).

Even a few people have requested to take my photograph, because, get this, I am so darn cute.

Shelley, my pet owner, says “yes” of course.

Those lucky bastards, capturing my image for posterity. So has Shelley, who has two photo albums filled with photos of me! Me! Wow!

  1. Speaking as one of “those lucky bastards” w/images of you (and Shelley) in my phone, I’d like to thank you for giving me something of yrself that I can call upon at any time. You always make me smile and I can think of no greater gift. Woof!

Leave a Reply

