Zoey

Kindergarten Puppy

In Big dogs, Learning commands, Puppy kindergarten, Training on August 28, 2011 at 7:00 am

I went through puppy kindergarten when I was six months old.

Shelley, my pet parent, didn’t cry, because she was with me the entire time.

I was the one who was anxious, not from separation anxiety but from not wanting to be in the training room at PetSmart. I wanted to go home. There were too many big dogs and little dogs. They were the unknown.

I turned my back and looked out the glass windows into the store, dreaming of being somewhere else, like the backyard, the park or anywhere where I could run and play.

When treats became involved, I would put on my game face and do whatever trick was required to get what I wanted: food! Of course, I had a learning curve to get over, but when I figured out what I was supposed to do, I would do it just for, well you know.

But then when the food wasn’t in the offering, I returned to window watching. And when we learned how to walk on a leash in the store, I headed for the door. Again, I wanted to go home. But no, the lesson wasn’t over.

I did eventually learn. And I got to wear a dog-sized graduation cap.

Yep, I’m a kindergarten graduate. And I passed intermediate training, so I have two certificates marking my achievements.

You can just call me Super Dog! Or say, You go girl!

  1. grrrrrrrWHUMPAWOOOOOOOOOFFF!!! Aroooooooooooooooooo!!!! (that’s “You go, girl” in German. Uh, I mean German Shepard . . .)

Leave a Reply

