Zoey

Puppy Skills

In Dog comfort, Dog communication on September 11, 2011 at 7:00 am

Here, Zoey hangs out atop Shelley's bed. She hides underneath the bed when she needs to pout.

Zoey, my cute miniature dachshund, is not blogging this week. She’s under my bed pouting.

For this reason, I thought I would speak on her behalf, since I can’t get her to come out and be sociable.

Almost every week, Zoey waxes poetic about her cuteness factor.

I’ve noticed that, though Zoey is very cute and gets more attention than me, she has other qualities and skills worth noting.

* For one, my dog is a great paper shredder. I give her my junk mail or whatever else needs ripping, and let her pounce. She grasps one side of the paper and makes a long tear, repeating the process until she is sitting in a pile of bite-sized pieces that I get to clean up.

* My dog serves as my backup alarm clock. The trash and delivery vehicles that drive past my building come between 6 and 8 a.m., so I get a barking wake-up call. Aren’t I lucky?

* My dog gets me to go on walks. She needs to be walked, but she can’t take herself out. I walk a mile a day more than I would without her. She walks half that, because when she tires, she plops on her behind and looks at me, as if saying, “Well, aren’t you going to carry me?”

* My dog brings out my playful side. How can I remain serious when we play tug-of-war with a stuffed bunny or chase as she carries a stuffed chick equal to her size all over the apartment?

* And my dog gives me kisses and attention without expecting anything in return, well except for food, her own dose of attention and lots of pets.

Oh wait, there she is coming out from her hiding space. I guess she got over her pout about not getting attention while I worked on my writing. Maybe because I’m done and ready for some more play.

  1. Aw, the pouting puppy!!! She’s lucky to have you and yr lucky to have such an efficient paper shredder/alarm clock/sidekick. Love you both!

Leave a Reply

