Zoey

Puppy Dancing

In Discoveries, Puppies, Running on October 16, 2011 at 7:00 am

Zoey is taking a nap in a bit of comforter comfort.

Zoey’s sick this week, so I thought I would share a poem I wrote after seeing a nine-week-old mixed breed puppy during one of my interviews for work. I had trouble concentrating on my notes when Lucy, who is the size of my 9-pound dachshund, sped across the floor, chasing balls, noises and anything that stirred the air around her.

Though she’s almost three, my dog Zoey has retained her puppy side: she loves to play chase and tug-of-war, but she doesn’t prance. She loves to run around the yard, but she pants. And she loves to be naughty, but she stops when she hears “no,” at least for a few seconds. And then she’s off being her cute puppy self.

Here’s the poem:       

Puppy Dance/ By Shelley Widhalm

Puppies have a magic dance

Tumbling over paws

Too big

Their eyes like sun-glazed

Pebbles in a stream

Crazed with too much

New –

A noise,

Colors,

What’s that?

Losing attention

To skip over

To the next maze

Ending with splay- pawed

Sleep.

Leave a Reply

