Zoey

Cute Contest Loser

In Dog Model, Shelley Widhalm on November 6, 2011 at 7:00 am

Zoey is sad, actually very sad, that she did not win PetSmart's cute costume contest.

Despite my being a very cute dog, I am sad to say that I did not make it to the final 25 contestants for PetSmart’s Halloween costume contest. There were five categories and I entered the cute costume category.

I, a fix-it-kind-of-girl with the cutest snout and long black-edged ears, dressed up as a mechanic. My pet parent, Shelley, somehow captured my model pose as I looked over my shoulder at the camera with my frilly bow just in view.

To put my bruised ego at ease, I looked up the final five in the cute costume category – the public gets to vote on their favorites in each category and the top winner will be in a commercial. I begrudgingly admit that the other pets were, in fact, cute. Their costumes were fancier and more detailed than mine and were, I admit, just plain adorable, while I was relying on my own cuteness to make my costume a winner.

Oh well.

The competition was stiff. There were 782 cute costume contestants just in the dog species alone, plus who knows how many there were for the cat, bird, small animal and reptile species.

Although I hear over and over just how cute I am, I realize that it was just one photo in one moment of time. It’s not like the judges could see me in action, get a glimpse of my personality and look into my brown puppy eyes with black markings that look like eyeliner.

Here’s the photo I entered. If you think I’m cute, please hit LIKE. And I’ll like you back, I promise.

Zoey dresses up in her mechanic shop gear for Halloween.

  1. Aw, Zoey, you’ll ALWAYS be a winner in my book!!

Leave a Reply

