Zoey

Waiting for Her Return

In Missing Mom, Pet Sitting, Shelley Widhalm, Waiting Up on November 13, 2011 at 7:00 am

Zoey the sad puppy.

Shelley, my pet parent, left me at her mom’s house this past week while she went away. I waited up for her the first night, thinking she would come get me.

She didn’t.

I slept on the couch with my blanket on top of two pillows. I was comfortable but sad.

The next day, a Sunday (Shelley left me on Saturday to go to her grandma’s funeral), I ran around the backyard, barking at the dogs who live on three sides of the fence – in back and on either side.

I was saying “hi,” not being a rabble-rouser like Shelley says.

Inside the house, I moped and licked my fur over and over, waiting and waiting.

Though Shelley’s mom kept her bedroom door open, I kept watch from my post on the couch just in case Shelley came home.

I had to wait one-two-three-four-five long, long days.

With a wag of my tail and a few happy circles, I silently greeted Shelley on the afternoon of the fifth day. She picked me up and kissed me. I didn’t bark or anything, so happy was I to have her back where she belonged.

  1. You and me both, Zoey, you and me both.

Leave a Reply

