Zoey

Play Time Required for All Dogs

In Frustration, Motivation, Play time, Seeking attention, Shelley Widhalm on December 4, 2011 at 7:00 am

These are some of Zoey's toys.

I’m frustrated that I don’t have all the milk bones I want.

I’m motivated to get treats and toys and all the play time a girl dog needs, but I don’t always get these things when I want them.

Here’s what I do for treats:

Stand on my back legs and cross my paws, looking extra cute.

Bark if I get impatient and frustrated.

Shelley, my pet parent, says “No noise,” and I have to be quiet and amp up the cute.

If I want to play, I grab my stuffed bunny and bring it to Shelley. If she doesn’t throw my toy, I remove the other ones from my toy box until they are all out in a pile of rejection. Usually, Shelley gets the hint and will throw one or get floor bound for tug-of-war.

Or I pretend to go to the door and when Shelley reaches for it, I go for a runner, inviting her into chase.

My last trick is to bark really loud. If I’m on the couch or the bed, I hang my front paws over the edge and stare with expectation of getting what I’m due.

It’s required after all if you take home a dog.

We dogs need play and love and sleep and treats. And of course, we are motivated by our love of you.

We get frustrated when we try to express our love to your turned back. So we have to make noise, look adorable or grab toys so that you remember what’s important: life isn’t all serious stuff but is about running around happy and free.

Leave a Reply

