Zoey

A Dog’s Motivation Factor

In A keen barker, Center of attention, Motivation, Pet me, Shelley Widhalm on December 11, 2011 at 7:00 am

Zoey turns a coffee cup lid into a toy.

As I’ve said before, I’m motivated by treats and getting petted. I also want to play chase, tug of war and games of keep away.

I especially want to be the center of attention.

It’s not too hard for me to meet these goals. I am a very cute long-haired dachshund, and most everyone loves me, well except for the big dogs. I bark at them, at least when I’m atop a coffee shop table or in someone’s lap, to let them know I’m the queen dog (not bee).

I get so many pets and told I’m cute, adorable and pretty. It’s like I’m famous, or so cute that I should be.

On Black Friday, I went to PetSmart with Shelley, my parent, and three people in a row stopped Shelley to ask her if they could pet me.

Me!

I don’t have a big ego, seriously, like right now I am sitting on Shelley’s lap listening to music at this Wednesday Night Hootenanny at the Mandolin Café. A few people have asked to pet me, as usually is the case at my hangout. But I’m being a good girl for Shelley’s sake.

A long time ago, she told her friends that she wanted to train squirmy me into a lapdog, and here I am being a lapdog. It took me a few months and a few trips home, but I can bend my will to that of another.

I like how the music is different from people’s voices. I can distinguish individual words when I’m being talked to, but music is like a moving string of sound that doesn’t divide with the silent spaces between words. Music sometimes matches my heartbeat or how it feels to take in air and push it into a sigh. So happy I am being here listening and seeing and sighing, engaging my sight, my hearing, my feeling and my ability to be quiet.

I don’t have to bark at big sounds, as is the case when I encounter other dogs and have to let them know about my presence.

Leave a Reply

