Zoey

Dog Talk

In Shelley and Zoey, Shelley Widhalm on February 5, 2012 at 10:00 am

This is how it should be, Shelley and I together, not separated by 100 miles!

Animal communication doesn’t require dialogue, as such, but it does take being able to communicate through the heart, the eyes and the mind.

Shelley, my pet parent, dropped me off at her dad’s house for three weeks, though I don’t know what three weeks is or three hours either. I just know she’s gone, gone, gone, and I want her back.

I am sending her a message to come get me.

Right now, her dad is seeing me pout, only perking up to go outside and run around the back yard. I like barking at the noises from other dogs and the trucks driving by on to the next town.

I get left here twice a year, once during winter so Shelley can work on her writing, and once in the summer during her vacation.

Shelley’s dad likes that I come, so he can spend lots of time with me, playing our games of chase, tug-of-war and keep away. He likes letting me sit on his lap when he works at the computer or when I cuddle next to him when he reads or does puzzles.

Sure, I think he’s a great guy and all, but he’s not my person.

I snuggled tight smack against Shelley when we visited her dad last weekend before she abandoned me. I kept track of her, continually on the lookout for any signs of packing.

On the third day of the visit, her stuff got put in its bags.

Mine didn’t.

No-o-o!!!!

After she left, Shelley made it clear that she’s missing me. I can feel it in my heart, a message from hers that she doesn’t like coming home without my tail-thumping greeting. She doesn’t like leaving for work in the morning, when she gives me treats and says, “I’m going to work. Be a good girl.”

She doesn’t like the quiet.

Oh wait, I hear a noise. I start barking and scratch at the door. I gotta go. There’s sounds for me to investigate, I realize as I take off running around and around the back yard. I’m barking as I forget, at least for a few minutes, that I’m missing Mom.

Leave a Reply

