Zoey

A Dog’s Voice

In A keen barker, Being Cute, Shelley Widhalm on February 12, 2012 at 11:00 am

Though smaller, Zoey the Super Dog has a big bark.

A dog’s voice is, at the surface, a matter of his or her bark.

But it’s more than that.

The quality of the bark – shrill and yippy, low and rumbling, or quick repetitive snaps like clapping – is based, in part, on breed. But how that bark is executed differs according to the individual dog.

Take me, a nine-pound miniature dachshund. Looking at my cute face, you would think my bark would be kind of small and quiet, but it’s big and deep and has a lot of growl – at least at times when I need to show you who’s the big dog of us two.

Voice is how I tell my story.

I have a certain bark for treats.

And one for the noises I don’t like.

And a bark for the trains.

If I am outside, I howl at their rumble on tracks and the scream of the whistle, long, short, short, repeating as if we don’t know there’s something speeding through town.

I bark from the patio to tell the world here I am.

Zoey, super dog.

I bark, therefore I am.

Leave a Reply

