Zoey

Cute Dog to the 100th Power

In All About Me, Being Cute, Shelley Widhalm on February 19, 2012 at 8:11 pm

Though a picture may be worth a thousand words, that number is too small to describe me.

One picture won’t due either.

I am Zoey, an amazingly, exceedingly, excessively cute miniature dachshund. I am so cute that people stop me, even in PetSmart where shoppers already have dogs, to ooh and ah.

They tell Shelley, my pet parent, that I am adorable, cute and beautiful, plus a whole bunch of other adjectives that make me want to lift my snout.

Though I could go on and on, I know that description should be concrete, concise and careful, while evoking the senses.

My favorite sense is smell, especially when snow blankets the ground. I like lifting my face when it falls, letting it wet my whiskers and clump to my fur as I begin to climb.

At nine pounds, I can stand on top of snow once the wind blows it into piles, using my snout to push it over the edge. I like watching it fall like shavings from a white crayon, sticking to the white already there.

In the summer, the grass is like little fans that wave, lifting the sweat of the heat into a sweet smell, edged with bitter lemon.

Best of all is running when all these smells come at me, the grass, a neighbor’s grill, human sweat, the markings of other dogs on the fence and my own panting breath.

I stop.

I could have been describing myself, but instead I described my surroundings. I guess I’ll have to let my picture speak for itself. Aren’t I cute? How cute? Cute to the 100th power, times Pi, or 3.14, divided by one.

That would be me, the number one cute dog in the world.

Leave a Reply

