Zoey

Reading the Dog Way

In All About Me, Chasing smells, Shelley Widhalm on March 11, 2012 at 10:30 am

Zoey is the center of her story, a plotting, but cute dachshund.

Duh, dogs don’t read. If I were to read, I would read anything with a dog on the cover, a dog character or a dog plotting to get even for not having a major role in great literature.

Enough about books.

The way I read is I sniff. I can figure out the source of smells – another dog, a dropped scrap of food or food cooking on a grill – by hanging around telephone and light poles, trees or whatnot as if staring at a sunset. I smell this and that, like thinking there is red and yellow coloring the sky.

My sense of identifying characters comes from listening to sounds.

Is it the neighbor coming upstairs? If I hear the click of her heels, I bark triple time, hoping she’ll come over to play.

Or is it the trash trucks coming down the alley? If there are the usual clanks and bangs, I bark extra loud, telling the truck to shut up.

If it’s the trains, I don’t say anything. I like the whistles and the rumble of wheels, kind of like a heartbeat broken by a scream.

Dialogue is a matter of all the talking I hear around me, interspersed with a bark, a pant or rolling on my back, seeking pets.

As for plot, when it’s about me and what I do all day long, it’s thrilling. The mystery is when Shelley, my pet parent, will come home, but it’s usually after work because I get bones in the morning, a kiss and a “Be a good girl.”

As if.

The end.

And happily ever after, because I’m here, the center of my own story.

* See Shelley my pet parent’s blog on reading at Shell’s Ink. http://shelleywidhalm.wordpress.com/

  1. Woof! Gotta tell ya ” . . . kind of like a heartbeat broken by a scream.” is the best descriptive sentence i’ve read in a long while.

Leave a Reply

