Zoey

Dog-Themed Love

In All About Me, Being Cute, Shelley Widhalm on March 18, 2012 at 10:30 am

Zoey the dachshund is cute eating ice cream. She believes that she's cute no matter what she does.

The theme of my life boils down to one word: me!!!

The main message of my story is that I’m cute. The message that people get when they see me out on walks or at PetSmart is that I’m head and nose above the other cute dogs.

The passersby want to pet me for this reason and probably because my fur – I am a long-haired miniature dachshund – is really soft and quite pretty.

In other words, the theme is that I am top dog.

Theme, according to books about the writing craft (why aren’t there books about the craft of barking?), is the deeper layer of meaning that runs through the surface of a story. What I say is the depth comes from the unconditional love that arises between a dog and her owner.

The deeper layer is how I can be a good dog even though I want to bark at everything, grab treats when I’m not supposed to and rummage through what’s not mine, I don’t. Well, except for the barking, of course.

My breed is known for being barkers.

I like to bark at unfamiliar noises, particularly noises that repeat and I find to be annoying (like the dump truck coming down the alley) and bike riders that ride too fast on the sidewalk with their wheels jangling on the cement cracks.

I also bark to say, “here I am;” “come here and pet me;” or “come here and play.”

The theme of my story is that I’m cute, a fact I communicate through my barking, though there probably isn’t any deeper layer to my yipping and yapping . Except that my bark can be low, growly and rumble with a snarl thrown in if I really get mad at the noises.

Oh, I forgot, I’m supposed to be a good girl.

And don’t forget CUTE!

* See Shelley’s blog on the same topic at http://shelleywidhalm.wordpress.com/2012/03/18/theme-in-writing-reading/

  1. Zoey, yr such a little Diva, but we love you. Keep barking, keep writing and for all our sakes, keep being cute!!!

Leave a Reply

