Zoey

A Dog’s Quarterly Review

In A keen barker, All About Me, Pet me, Shelley Widhalm on May 6, 2012 at 11:30 am

I figured as a dog, I could dig a little into what makes for good storytelling, because I’m not just about barking.

Call me Zoey the Super Cute Dachshund.

I am learning about the elements of fiction, so that by the end of the year, I will know how to write a puppy’s book, I mean children’s book.

Take plot, which in my shoe-less paws, is pretty exciting. The hook is my cute demeanor (check my photos and see just how adorable I am) that draws passersby into wanting to pet me.

The inciting incident of getting human attention always triggers my desire to get more pets and to be told that I am the cutest of all the cute dogs in the world. Sometimes this desire submerges me into a bit of trouble when I bark at the big dogs or from the vantage point of a coffee shop table or the patio, telling everyone, “Here I am. Come play!”

The obstacles to my getting visitors are the front door without a doorbell and Shelley, my pet parent, saying, “No bark,” to which I reply with an even louder bark and a snout in the air.

“You have to come in now,” Shelley says, and if I don’t, I’m picked up and brought inside.

Darn.

The other elements of fiction include:

  • Setting, or wherever I am: downtown out on walks, the patio to see the city and Shelley’s Mom’s big, huge, wonderful backyard to run and run and have fun.
  • Character, which is obvious in that I am the main character of everything, while the minor characters include Shelley, her friends and her family.
  • Dialogue, or woof, bark and yip. Need I say more?
  • Pacing, as in I run fast, I play hard and I sleep long.

As for theme, that should be obvious. Life’s not all about looks, but about beauty, or cuteness in my case, from inward out. It helps, however, that I’m cute to look at and have a cute personality to boot.

Chew on that, why don’t you?

The end.

* See Shelley’s blog on the writing process at http://shelleywidhalm.wordpress.com/2012/05/06/a-writers-quarterly-review/

  1. […] See Zoey the dachshund’s blog on her four-month review at https://zoeyspaw.wordpress.com/2012/05/06/a-dogs-quarterly-review/ Like this:LikeBe the first to like this post. ▶ No Responses /* 0) { […]

  2. Cute is as cute does, and you does cute better than anybody!!

Leave a Reply

