Zoey

Zoey Tells a Story

In All About Me, Shelley and Zoey, Shelley Widhalm on June 3, 2012 at 11:30 am

I want treats.

I want to play, and I want to run and bark at the other dogs. And when I’m tired, I want to sit on a lap.

I’m a lapdog, and a very cute one at that.

So, why don’t you sit down, and I’ll buddy up to tell you my story.

This telling from beginning to middle to end is called the story arc, and what I do along the way is my character arc. To tell the story of my life I have to start with what I want, or there is no story.

For instance:

Zoey the cutest dachshund west of the Mississippi wants there to be more playtime. She wants less time devoted to working and sitting around, talking about boring things like politics, business and how the world works.

With more play time, Zoey wouldn’t have to wait around for Shelley, her pet parent, to get off from work.

Before she leaves, Shelley gives Zoey goodbye treats and is gone for eight hours, though Zoey doesn’t understand time.

When Shelley comes back, Zoey greets her with tail wags and rolling over for a belly rub. At the end of this greeting, Zoey zooms off to hide under the bed to show her displeasure at being left for the day.

Shelley says, “I’m sorry, but I have to go work,” as she lifts the bed skirt, bending down to talk to Zoey. Zoey stays “hidden” until Shelley pretends to leave out the front door, drawing upon Zoey’s curiosity.

Zoey scurries to the living room and stands still waiting for the leash and the I’m-sorry-I’ve-been-gone-all-day walk.

Shelley and Zoey go on their walk, play a little and go to bed, only to do the whole thing all over again the next day.

And this makes Zoey sad, very sad, because Zoey can’t change a darn thing.

No matter how hard I wish, I keep learning and relearning that there really is no story, just life, the life of a dog in a city with an owner she loves and who loves her back. Maybe it’s a love story, that of a girl and her dog. And a dog and her girl.

  1. That was beautiful Zoey. Yr a very, very, very, very lucky dog! Gice Shelley a kiss for me!

Leave a Reply

