Zoey

Zoey the Dachshund: 100 Percent Cute

In All About Me, Being Cute, Loud barks, Shelley Widhalm on June 10, 2012 at 11:00 am

What dog do you know who has written 100 blogs? That’s what I thought. Maybe one or 10, but certainly not 100.

Of course, there are that many books featuring dogs (and cats – but why? I must ask) as the main character.

Add paw swipe to injury, my BFF Shelley just finished reading “Dewey: The Small-Town Library Cat Who Touched the World,” by Vicki Byron. She laughed at parts and cried at the end, apparently feeling for Dewey Readmore Books.

Shelley should feel for Zoey Writesmore Blogs than any other dog that’s gone virtual. I am hers, after all, and she’s mine.

Writing 100 blogs has made me realize how privileged my readers are to get a first-dog look into a 9.5-pound miniature dachshund’s life.

I started my blog Zoey’s Paw on June 16, 2010, the same day Shelley started her blog, Shell’s Ink. We wrote about how we met and got to know each other from my nine weeks of life to my second birthday on Dec. 20 of that same year.

Shelley decided to blog about shyness in 2011, but I figured shyness didn’t have anything to do with me. I am a gregarious, incredibly cute dog who loves attention, including pets, treats, playtime and being told, “Isn’t she cute?” I know that I am, but it certainly doesn’t hurt to hear it a hundred times.

I blogged about my fascinating life as a dog in a small Midwestern city, garnering attention, perfecting my skills at catch and intimidating the big dogs (I have an excessively loud, intimidating bark).

This year, Shelley’s blogging about 52 writing topics in 52 weeks. I’m writing about those same topics, focusing on the exciting plot of my life, me as the main character and how I stand out from my setting, no matter where I am.

Next year, I am choosing what we blog about. I’m supposed to be alpha dog, meaning I should be alpha writer.

I propose Shelley and I write about, not dogs, and certainly not cats, but about me.

  1. That’s tellin’ ’em, Zoey! I like yr moxie, kid!! Happy Anniversary!!!

  2. Congrats Zoey! And a little dachshund shall lead them. My blog guest stars- Bruderlein, Liesl and Katze send you warm anniversary regards.

Leave a Reply

