Zoey

Zoey’s Take on Story Resolutions

In All About Me, Being Cute, Shelley and Zoey, Shelley Widhalm on July 22, 2012 at 11:30 am

Zoey the Cute Dachshund contemplates on how to tell a good story.

While my co-blogger, Shelley, waxes prosaic about resolutions, I have to admit that I’m not about resolving, but about being.

In her blog, “Shell’s Ink,” Shelley explains that the resolution of a story concludes all that has happened before, solving the conflicts set up earlier on. She says, “The main character has to make a decision, resolve a problem or face a new challenge in order to end her conflict. If she decides to remain with the status quo, she will suffer the consequences.”

I think not! I like the status quo, which is that I am the CEO of Cuteness, as well as the cutest dachshund this side of the Mississippi. If any dachshund, or dog (or cat!) dare counter my cuteness quotient, I will bark up a storm.

Plus, the plot of my life is very exciting, well, except when Shelley has to go to her stupid workplace and leaves me all day to entertain myself.

Otherwise, the beginning of my excitement occurs when I’m out in public and people (hordes of them) want to pet me. I get requests for pets when I’m out on walks, sitting on coffee shop tabletops or shopping at PetSmart (actually, Shelley shops and I agree to the purchases that include treats and toys, but not shampoo, new brushes and doggie toothpaste).

As for the rising action, I only encounter conflict, or more like disappointment, when I’m eagerly wagging my tail inviting pets and the potential dispenser of pets walks by without noticing me. The gall!

Of course, conflict comes about when big dogs walk by, showing off their stature, thinking they’re all tough, when I am the one with the big bark. To be nice, I couple my barks with tail wags, trying to prove my toughness, while also saying, “hi.”

I prefer that when I do bark, the big dogs just nod and say, “Yes, you are a tough girl,” and not give me the look that says, “Are you kidding? I’m not scared of you.” I find that to be a bit insulting.

Oh, woof … (and a sigh).

Because they continue on their walks and I remain in my same spot, no conflict ensues.

It’s the status quo of my living in the moment, hoping that I get pets and, if not, enjoying the sunshine, the people and the dogs walking by and the fact that I’m so darn cute!

See Shelley’s blog, “Shell’s Ink,” at http://bit.ly/Ngn89A

  1. That’s a refreshing take you got on life there, Zoey. I guess some peop . . . er, i mean puppies just know how to live.

Leave a Reply

