Zoey

What Motivates Dogs (Besides Food!)

In All About Me, Being Cute, Motivation, Shelley Widhalm on August 5, 2012 at 11:30 am

Zoey the Dachshund chews on a rawhide treat.

I am motivated by what should motivate all cute dogs – praise, getting pets and, of course, the T word.

You got it. Treats!

Shelley, my human writing partner, went on and on this week about character motivation and the difference between what a character wants and what she needs.

I want treats. I need treats. It’s the same thing.

I want to talk about another of my want/needs. When we go on walks, I want to sniff around and catch up on the gossip from the other dogs, get a little exercise and meet people who will stop and pet me, saying how cute I am.

But what I need is to get carried. I don’t like my point-of-view being so low to the ground. Up high, I can gather more information and see what’s going on without relying so much on my sense of smell.

Another want/need is to run around a backyard, but Shelley does not have a backyard. Walking on a leash isn’t the same thing. Just imagine if you were told where to walk and had to follow the same old route every time your person got off work. Yeah, I thought so.

Plus, I hate how when I want to sniff a smell and really understand the source and identify how long it’s been there and why, Shelley pulls on my harness. I’ve got to move along.

Do you see me telling her to move along when she stops to greet someone she knows? Instead, I wag my tail and stare at that person until he or she give me my much deserved pet and remarks about my cuteness.

That’s because I’m the CEO of cuteness. As CEO, I want a higher salary. But what I need is (organic) food, toys, treats, walks and LOVE. The (organic) part is Shelley’s choice, but I like my food, or all food, except for watermelon, cereal that I can’t figure out how to eat and bad-tasting stuff.

I like, especially, treats, the extra good, once-in-awhile ones that are above all else. Call it eating my way into doggie heaven.

See Shelley’s blog, Shell’s Ink, at http://bit.ly/Pw2VHY

  1. I’m with you, Zoey, i can’t stand that cereal i can’t figure out how to eat, either!

Leave a Reply

