Zoey

Smart dogs don’t do cliches

In All About Me, Being Cute, Shelley Widhalm on August 19, 2012 at 11:30 am

Where’s Zoey? (Hint: Look for the really cute dachshund!)

To treat or not to treat, that is the question.

The answer is, of course, treats!

I am a cute dachshund very deserving of good food, lots of cuddles and long, extended playtime.

What I’m not about is cat’s having nine lives, cats being let out of their bags and curious cats that taunt me and flick their tails in disdain.

Here’s an example: I was sitting on the window ledge barking at a feral black cat, and the cat stared back at me with its yellow, squinty eyes. The cat sauntered back and forth to entice my barking. The cat didn’t respond to my “hi,” except by turning on its paw and exiting, showing its backside, as if saying, “let barking dogs die.”

Cats and clichés, they can’t be too much of a good thing.

I’ve tried to befriend ducks, too, a gaggle of three that paddled out of range every time I pulled on my leash to get closer. They honked and lifted off on flapping wings, leaving me in a barking frenzy.

Oh, the life of a dog in want of friends.

The problem is Shelley goes to work eight hours a day, and she doesn’t give me the keys to the outside world. She doesn’t think I’m responsible enough to lock the door with my paws and take my own self on a walk.

The thing is, the writing is on the wall.

I’m a dachshund in need of attention, my moment of truth.

As I go on walks where I’m leash bound, I like to stop at every passerby to see if they’ll pet me. If they’re an animal lover, I show them my belly. If they pick me up, I’ll rub my face against their cheek or give them a kiss.

I’m a born lover, that’s all there’s to it.

Shelley talks up clichés on her blog, Shell’s Ink, at http://shelleywidhalm.wordpress.com/2012/08/19/avoiding-cliches-like-the-plague/

Leave a Reply

