Zoey

Zoey Writes Her Memoir

In All About Me, Being Cute, Dog Writing, Shelley Widhalm on September 16, 2012 at 11:30 am

Zoey the Cute Dachshund is quite proud of her memoir.

As the cutest dachshund this side of the Mississippi (I mean globally), I can just sit here and be admired.

I don’t even have to try, because wherever I go, I get told I’m cute, adorable and pretty (thank you, thank you). I get petted and the best ever ear scratches.

But as a dog blogger, things don’t come so easily. I actually have to work at writing. I have to sit my butt in the chair and put my paws to the keyboard. So, here I am, a 3 ½-year old pup getting ready to tell her memoir.

I’m not supposed to start with when I was born, but that was a pretty important day – Dec. 20, 2008, the day the world stopped to celebrate (right?) five days before Christmas and 11 day before New Year’s Day. And what a year was 2009, and of course, 2010 to now.

I was separated from my litter and sent to a pet store, where I was adopted at nine weeks. I saw her, the One, when she came in looking at all the cages of puppies. She, of course, thought I was the cutest one and asked the store person with the keys to my cage if she could hold me.

I leaned my head on her chest, gave her kisses and looked adoringly into her eyes, and she left! How dare she!!!

But get this, the next day, she came back with her mom and they both held me. Mom said I should be taken home, and I was thinking, duh!

When I was taken to there, I found out my name and her name – Zoey and Shelley. Nice ring to them, don’t you think?

I learned that I weighed 2 pounds, 11 ounces, small enough to fit into my six-inch squared squishy bed.

So to make a long story short, I grew and accumulated toys and got treats and played hard. I had to get a bigger bed. I learned how to climb stairs and stand on my hind legs, wave, sit, lie down and roll over. I barked at the big dogs and fought over tug-of-war, winning with my superior girl power strength.

In essence, I went from a pup to a bigger pup to a dog. I went from kind of naughty to mostly good, but not all good, because that would be boring.

Basically, I grew from little to big, learning along the way that there’s so much to smell wherever I go. I’m not one to skip stopping and smelling the roses or whatever other pretty thing is on my path.

  1. awfully cute, as usual. woof!

Leave a Reply

