Zoey

Cute Dogs don’t get Blocked

In All About Me, Being Cute, Shelley Widhalm on October 14, 2012 at 11:30 am

Zoey’s cuteness factor is framed in this snow sculpture.

I do not get cute block, as in the dog form of writer’s block.

Writer’s block is what writers like Shelley (my BFF) get when they try writing about cats.

It’s pretty obvious, because there’s not a whole lot to say about cats – they like mice, birds and chasing things. I’m not ripping on cats, however, because I can admit they are clever, fast and smooth.

What I mean is that pretty much all cats like a very small list of boring things – just check out the toy aisle at a pet store. And then go to the doggie toy aisle – there’s more variety from stuffed, rawhide and nyla bones to stuffed animals, balls of all sizes and things to tug.

Cute block is what happens when animals born cute become not so cute, such as a porcupine. They are born tiny and cuddly, and then they get very prickly. Or a raccoon with cute eye rings becomes old looking with its big back hump.

I remain cute at all hours of the day whether I’m sleeping or awake, whether I’m barking or yawning or sneezing or eating or playing. I’m cute when I tilt my head and widen my eyes, trying to figure out what you’re telling me.

I get it when you say I’m cute.

What I don’t understand, or choose not to, is when you tell me I’m a bad girl.

I am a dog angel with black markings where there should be wings. That means you cannot call me bad, naughty or onery.

My mind is blocked to all negative references to my being, my looks and my behavior – as long as I am in the belief that I am not naughty.

I am not being bad when I bark at the big dogs. It’s my job as the cutest dachshund this side of the Mississippi to alert the other dogs that here I am.

  1. awwwwww . . . . i remember the day that picture was taken. great memories. stay cute, babe!

Leave a Reply

