Zoey

Paws-ing on Deadline Conundrum

In All About Me, Being Cute, Shelley Widhalm on March 17, 2013 at 11:00 am

I'm in my pajamas, which means I'm past deadline for playtime.

I’m in my pajamas, which means I’m past deadline for playtime.


I have deadlines, though I’m an unemployed long-haired miniature dachshund.

Call me Zoey, the CEO of Cuteness.

It may sound like I have a job, given my nickname, but what I do is volunteer work. I’m trying to help my BFF Shelley add a canine perspective to her blog, Shell’s Ink. I blog for free on Zoey’s Paw, where I’m the CEO, as well as Ms. Cuteness for being really, really cute.

I don’t earn a dime. I earn treats.

I’m paid in those meaty, cheesy, peanut-buttery things that take a second to scarf down, causing me to want more. So I keep doing good things to get the treats, working the system, but I’m still not working.

I have a kitchen cupboard all to myself with my dog food, treat stash and a spare dog bowl, but it’s above the far-away counters. I don’t have opposable thumbs, so I can’t open the cabinet door.

Given my limitations, I have to work for the extras, such as doing tricks and going potty in my potty box (I don’t have a big backyard); plus being good whenever my BFF leaves for work.

I don’t clock in or clock out, but I bark at everything, marking what’s occurring with noise, employing a verbal bookmark in the great life book.

I don’t have a To Do list, except to eat, sleep, play and, when it’s nice, go on walks. (I don’t walk on cold surfaces, by the way.)

And I don’t have an In-Box, though a Treat In-Box would be nice with treats coming in, piling up quicker than I could consume them.

What I do have is a blog, bringing me back to my original point: I blog without getting paid, not even in treats. I think it’s time for me to get something good to eat.

Now!

Where. Is. My. Treat?

Huh?

Leave a Reply

