Zoey

Barking Translator

In All About Me, Shelley Widhalm on May 12, 2013 at 11:30 am

I know, I know, I've got a really loud bark. Woof!

I know, I know, I’ve got a really loud bark. Woof!


I would like to provide dog owners with a barking translator as a reference tool.

Here is a translation of what my barks, noises and silences mean, which may prove useful for other dog owners.

• Bark: Here I am, look at me!
• Loud bark near a big dog: I am larger than you, and I’m going to beat you up with my miniature paws. My big-dog sound comes from 10 pounds of flesh.
• Growl, or snarl: I’m protecting my person, you big bad dog, and go away, now!
• Play bark: Duh, play with me, now!
• A quick, repetitive yelp: Get my teddy bear (even though I could get it myself).
• Tongue-out pants: I’m totally excited, or tired after exciting play-time.
• Howl: The sirens and train horns hurt my ears, so I’m covering up the noises with my own.
• Sighing moan: I am enjoying my zen moment with Big White Bear as I reenact feeding from my mother by biting the bear’s neck and steadily moving my paws back and forth.
• Yawn with a squeal: You just woke me up, but aren’t I just the cutest?
• Silent, plus not to be found: I’m usually underneath the bed and before I go, I wait for you to see me, so that you will know I’m mad at you, usually for ignoring me and not making me the center of your attention.
• Silent, cuddled next to you: This happens when I want dog-person time.

In essence, I talk to people, to other dogs and to noises I hear. I keep talking even if the sounds are far away, hoping for a response, even from the trains that roar past or the trucks that rumble through the alley below my window.

Leave a Reply

