Zoey

Good Rules for Dog BFFs

In All About Me, Shelley and Zoey, Shelley Widhalm on June 16, 2013 at 11:30 am

There are certain rules to follow when interacting with dogs.

There are certain rules to follow when interacting with dogs.

My BFF Shelley finally figured out what should have been so obvious about me, Zoey the Cute Dachshund.

I need, absolutely need, my water dish to be higher than on the floor.

I tried to give her the hint that I don’t like bending down so low to drink by not drinking from my water bowl. I, instead, waited for her to give me water from cups she held for me when we were out on mini-trips to the park, the coffee shop or the outdoor mall. But because she didn’t figure it out until a cat owner had to tell her about my needs, the result was I was always so, so thirsty.

The other way I’ve hinted this to her involved avoiding eating out of the dog food bowl and trying to rely on table scraps. Though those are not as readily available and are given out in tiny portions that aren’t even enough for a meal. So, I eat my dog food, eventually.

Here are some other things she’s just figured out by reading books about dog behavior:

• I prefer going on a scent walk, where I follow my nose instead of walking in a straight line at the end of a leash.
• I like to meet other dogs off leash instead of on leash, because we can make our own rules without having someone tug on us. We are on even ground that way.
• I bark at the big dogs because I’m protecting her, plus my territory. When I’m in an unfamiliar place, I do not dare bark because I do realize they are big. I just want to be big, too, but I guess that’s a personal issue for a miniature dachshund like me to face.
• I see in blue, yellow and green, so my world looks a little different from hers. I like grass because it’s green, and I like my toys that are of these colors, because I can see them all pretty like.
• I like to dig when I’m frustrated, though I’m not digging for badgers, because obviously I’m a house dog and I’ve lost touch with my heritage and breeding.

Last of all, I need to be loved lots, told I’m cute and cuddled, because I’ve been bred to be a companion to humans. This part of my breeding remains close and core to my identity.

Leave a Reply

