Zoey

Dog Blogging (in a timely manner)

In All About Me, My Story, Shelley Widhalm, Uncategorized on October 6, 2013 at 11:30 am

Zoey is posing with her BFF Shelley.

Zoey is posing with her BFF Shelley.

Unlike my BFF Shelley, I do not procrastinate.

I post my blog every Sunday about interesting things having to do with dogs, caring for dogs, understanding and communicating with dogs, and paying attention to a particular dog.

I am that particular dog.

My name is Zoey, and I am the cutest dachshund in the world. I have been told that I am cute, beautiful and pretty.

I get stopped all the time for petting sessions, photographs and conversations about my high level of cuteness.

And I meet all kinds of people, though I don’t do so well with other dogs (especially if they are big).

Given all this, I should be telling my story. I call my story, or blog, “Zoey’s Paw,” because I have my paw on all things worldly, as well as use my paws to write.

During my first year of blogging in 2009, I told the story of how my BFF and I met in a pet store. I was a wee nine weeks old and weighed 2.8 pounds (I now weigh 10).

My BFF asked to hold me, and I leaned my head against her chest, causing her to be a goner. Can you blame her? I was so adorable back then (and now) with two-inch whiskers, large melty-brown eyes and a black stripe down my back (that has since disappeared).

Shelley left me at the store and returned with her mom the next day, and I did the same lean-my-head-on-the-mom’s-chest thing. I got to ride home in a big car, see the big world and enter my new home.

“She acts like this is her home,” the mom said as I pranced around on the carpet, sniffing out my future place of residence.

Shelley took me to puppy kindergarten and intermediate training; she read books about dogs and my particular breed; and she worked hard at my training.

What did I do in return?

I loved and love Shelley unconditionally (well, except during bath time), and I draw attention to her by drawing attention to me. Lots of people know my name before they know hers – even so, I get her to talk more and be more social.

I’ve been good for her, as she has been for me.

It’s called puppy love but not just that; it’s forming a partnership and a friendship, plus a boundless, energetic BFF.

Leave a Reply

