Zoey

A Dog’s (Good) Life

In All About Me, Being Cute, Dog Writing, Shelley Widhalm on January 19, 2014 at 11:30 am

Zoey has a journal at the ready to tell her stories.

Zoey has a journal at the ready to tell her stories.

I don’t exactly consider myself a memoirist as I write about the dog’s life.

My name is Zoey.

I am a very cute miniature dachshund.

I just turned five.

And I weigh 10 pounds.

I like to write about what’s happened to me and what isn’t happening that should, such as receiving an endless supply of treats (wait, I do get them from the mysterious cupboard I can’t see into) and engaging in endless playtime. (Sometimes, I start to play and stop when I hear a noise, getting distracted about the who-what-when-where-why of sound.)

My life was dramatic at the beginning but now has settled into somewhat of a routine.

I was born on December 20, 2008, and at the tender age of nine months was sent to a pet store. Just a couple days after my arriving, my future BFF Shelley held me and fell hard for my adorable self as I leaned my head against her chest, claiming her.

Oddly, she put me back and didn’t rescue me until the next day. (I realize that I’m not a rescue dog, but I wanted her and only her, even though she wanted to do the right thing and get a puppy from an animal shelter or rescue group … until my cuteness won her over!)

Shelley trained me, and I sort of learned what she wanted me to do.

And then she sent me away while she moved. I lived with her dad, so I didn’t know who my BFF was for awhile. She took me back after a few months, but the tension and conflict of not having a secure home caused some issues for me.

For instance, I don’t like letting her out of my sight when her dad visits or she visits him. What if they do the switcharoo thing again?

But despite this rising and unsettling action, I’ve settled into a happy ending of sorts – except for the part when Shelley leaves me five days a week to go to work. I get great treats, OK dog food and lots of play time, plus walks (except when it’s raining or snowing, because I have princess feet).

Anyway, it’s all good, me living out my dreamy dog life.

Leave a Reply

