Zoey

IMMEDIATE ATTENTION: Cute dogs rule

In All About Me, Being Cute, Shelley Widhalm on May 11, 2014 at 11:30 am

Zoey is posing with her BFF Shelley.

Zoey is posing with her BFF Shelley.

My human writing partner, Shelley, is blogging about how to write an eye-catching press release, and I thought I’d help her out with one all about me.

She says, “A press release is a written statement announcing your news item that includes facts, any important statistics and at least one or two quotes from the key players in the story.”

The release starts with a headline, which is the title of the piece. It should be clear, concise and to the point and contain the most important information.

For my news item, my headline states: “Zoey the Cute Dachshund Wins the Best (and Cutest) Dog Award.”

The lead, or first sentence of the release, should briefly explain the 5 Ws and the H, or who, what, where, when, why and how.

Specifically, the 5 Ws and H ask:

• Who is the story about? (Answer: It’s about me, the cute dog.)
• What is the news topic? (I won the Best Dog Award from the Cute Dogs of America Association.)
• When will this happen? (I will be presented with the award during National Pet Week July 4-11 at the tail end of the week.)
• Where will it take place? (It will take place at the All Dogs Welcome dog park, 1234 Dog Lane.)
• Why is it newsworthy? (Duh. It’s about me, and anything about me is newsworthy.)
• How is this happening? (The CDAA is presenting my award and a few other—but lesser—awards to other dogs that aren’t as cute as me during the free range dinner event.)

Just so you get a complete picture, the body of the press release should be concise with short sentences and paragraphs, backing up what was said in the headline and lead. At the end of the release, include an About Us (or About Me) paragraph that gives a synopsis of what your business or organization does in one or two sentences.

Here is my About Me section: Zoey the Cute Dachshund, 5, is a talented, long-haired miniature dachshund who can stand on her hind legs (when she wants something), bark really loud and get lots of attention due to her cuteness factor.

(Note: See Shelley’s blog about writing press releases at shelleywidhalm.wordpress.com.)

Leave a Reply

