Zoey

Dog Story Teller

In All About Me, Being Cute, Dog Writing, Shelley and Zoey, Shelley Widhalm on October 19, 2014 at 11:30 am

Here I am as a very cute puppy with my BFF Shelley.

Here I am as a very cute puppy with my BFF Shelley.

I write lots of stories as a canine writer, plus blogs, poetry and even the occasional news article about the dog life.

I was born Dec. 20, 2008, and at eight weeks was sent to a pet store in Fort Collins, Colorado, where I was adopted a week later. My BFF Shelley saw me there, obviously thinking I was incredibly cute, and asked if she could hold me.

I leaned my head on her chest, gave her kisses and looked adoringly into her eyes. Despite my efforts, she left without me. But the next day, she came back with her mom and they both held me.

Her mom said I should be taken home, and I was thinking, duh! When I was taken to there, I found out my name and her name—Zoey and Shelley. I learned that I weighed 2 pounds, 11 ounces, small enough to fit into my brand new, multi-colored, six-inch-square bed.

I grew and accumulated toys and got treats and played hard. I had to get a bigger bed. I learned how to climb stairs and stand on my hind legs, wave, sit, lie down and roll over. I barked at big dogs, ran around the back yard and played catch, fetch and tug-of-war.

I went from a pup to a bigger pup to a dog. I went from kind of naughty to mostly good, but not all good, because that would be boring.

Basically, I grew from little to big, learning along the way that there’s so much to smell wherever I go. I’m not one to skip stopping and smelling the roses or whatever other pretty thing is on my path.

Leave a Reply

