Zoey

Dog Days of Winter

In Dog Blogger, Shelley and Zoey, Shelley Widhalm on November 17, 2014 at 2:04 am

Zoey's cuteness factor is framed in this snow sculpture.

Zoey’s cuteness factor is framed in this snow sculpture.

If I were to journal about my life, I would, as the cutest dachshund ever, write about how I start each day cuddling with my BFF Shelley and then when she starts getting up, I zoom under the bed.

That’s because I don’t want her to take me on my morning walk. It doesn’t matter that I have to go potty. The point is I don’t want to leave my warm bubble of sleepy time, especially now with temperatures at 0 degrees. Plus, when it rains or snows, like it is now, I don’t want to get my paws wet.

For some reason and nearly every day, Shelley lures me out from under with treats that she puts in a three-part path that gets me every time, though I tell myself, “Stay.” I don’t, letting my hunger overcome my desire for comfort.

So, here’s what happens: I eat the treats and feel a hand come under my belly. I’m placed on the counter. My harness is put on and the leash snapped in place. I’m taken down the hall to the elevator and placed on the elevator floor. At the ground floor and outside, I walk two steps to a planter bed, go potty and run back to the door.

I am done. I want to go back upstairs to warm, coziness. And that’s just my morning.

Shelley goes to work, and I just hang out, sleeping and barking at noises. When Shelley comes home, she walks me again and takes me somewhere where people love on me, and then we go to bed.

It’s a good life, even if the morning routine I’m subjected to is not how I want to start my day.

Leave a Reply

