Zoey

Dealing with No-Treats Block

In Being Cute, Liking Dog Treats on March 15, 2015 at 11:30 am

I want treats but am not getting any, so therefore I am pouting.

I want treats but am not getting any, so therefore I am pouting.

I find that when I don’t get treats, I pout.

Why? Because I need to be reminded that I’m cute, loved and worthy of the attention that comes from being the receiver of treats.

Treats are the extra in life that go above and beyond the dog food that provides basic nutritional needs, though treats can be nutritious, too.

Here are the treats I like:

  • Rawhide, because I can chew for a few minutes to a whole hour, depending on the type. Rawhide wrapped in dried bacon is good for chewing and the flavor, while straightforward rawhide gives me something to rotate in my paws as I chew along the edges, scraping off the plaque from my teeth.
  • Milkbones that are heated in the microwave for 20 seconds, because they taste like freshly baked crackers.
  • Round things with meaty middles that I like to crunch to get to the center. I make lots of crumbs and eat it all up, because I can’t waste good food.
  • Puppy beef sticks, because they are spicy and meaty and extra tasty.
  • Anything that humans eat, except for onions, chocolate, grapes and raisins, because those foods aren’t good for our digestive systems. I love cheese, carrots, apples, bananas and yogurt.

Here are a couple of photos of me indulging in treats (to both demonstrate what I like and to show how cute I am).

I am chewing on a rawhide in the sunshine.

I am chewing on a rawhide in the sunshine.

I am very much enjoying my rawhide stick.

I am very much enjoying my rawhide stick.

(See my writing partner Shelley’s blog on dealing with writer’s block at shelleywidhalm.wordpress.com.)

Leave a Reply

