Zoey

A Dog’s View of Poetry

In Canine Poetry, Dog Poet, Dog Writer on April 12, 2015 at 11:30 am

I'm waiting to feel inspired to play or run or have fun.

I’m waiting to feel inspired to play or run or have fun.

This week I’m going to defer to my BFF Shelley, because she blogged about poetry.

I’ve written a couple of poems as a canine poet, but I don’t really know what to say about poetry. I do know that poetry, like green lawns, can be a thing of beauty for running and playing with words, smells and sounds.

Poetry has rhythm and meter, just like I do when I get going around the yard, chasing circles as I try to capture the sounds of birds and wildlife into the sight of friendship, but the animals usually don’t want to play with me.

From my backyard, going-on-walks and being-around-town experience, I’ve learned cats generally don’t like dogs, and dogs, which, if they’re bigger than me, don’t like me (or is it the other way around?). I bark at them to let them know I am the bigger dog, except they look at me like, Are you kidding?

As I bark, I wag my tail as Shelley says, “Zoey, that’s not how you make friends.”

So how do you make friends? I hope I can find them in poetry, or in life as I try out the sounds and beauty of language.

(See Shelley’s blog at shelleywidhalm.wordpress.com at https://shelleywidhalm.wordpress.com/?p=1000.)

Leave a Reply

