Zoey

Canine Poet Shares Poetry

In All About Me, Canine Poetry, Dog Poet on April 25, 2015 at 5:30 pm

I'm sitting next to a laptop (I'm a lapdog, by the way), waiting for poetic inspiration.

I’m sitting next to a laptop (I’m a lapdog, by the way), waiting for poetic inspiration.

I am a canine poet and would like to share with you some of the poems I’ve written in honor of National Poetry Month.

Running

By Zoey the Cute Dachshund

I turn the fence into a silvered blur

Until a bird sings, sound floating

Off the flap of wings.

I slow each step, an easing of paws

On stiff brown grass,

Wishing

In my silent approach

I could chase air things

Get them grounded—

But off I go again,

As if a ship sailing circles

Enclosing possibilities

Until the next bird comes along,

Hope before its leaving.


An Everyday Dog’s View

By Zoey the Cute Dachshund

What I see every day you don’t

with your busyness and wanting to be

something important.

I get to lie down on paws,

look out the window

bark at passersby

as I blog about life,

not caring if what I say

means extravagance,

just a simple thought

that I’m okay just lying here

dreaming.


Found

By Zoey the Cute Dachshund

I am not lost

With you in my heart

Squeezed against your side,

Licking the salt off your hand,

Kissing you,

Loving you,

Not wanting anything but

Being here.

Leave a Reply

