Zoey

A dog’s exercise needs

In Being Cute, Exercise for Dogs, Going on walks, The importance of play on September 11, 2016 at 11:30 am

2011 Christmas 027

Zoey has her jacket and leash, ready for a walk.

Dogs need exercise, and as a cute dachshund, I know I have to face the truth.

My BFF Shelley wants me to lose a pound, which is 10 percent of my body weight. I think she should lose 13.5 pounds and see how it feels.

To make me lose weight, Shelley is making me go on long walks. I guess it’s all right, because I meet people along the way who will pet me. I go up to them, as long as they look friendly enough, and stop. “Pet me, please,” I hint.

Most oblige.

It’s because I’m really cute.

Okay, so about exercise.

Dogs need at least 30 minutes of exercise a day, but larger breeds need up to two hours. How much they need really depends on the age, breed, size and overall health. Young dogs also need more, because they need to burn off their excessive energy.

There are many ways to get exercise with your dog besides the usual walk. Here are a few:

  • Throw our toys, and we’ll go get them, most likely by running.
  • Play chase with us around the house.
  • Make up a game that involves movement, using our toys, balls or things to chew.
  • Have us do tricks.
  • Take us to dog parks and doggie day care.

And remember to provide us with a warm up and cool down, give us rest breaks, keep us hydrated and don’t let us overdo it. If we lie down in the middle of exercise, stumble, drag our feet or yawn, we may be getting fatigued. I usually just sit on my butt and don’t move. That’s a big hint, too.

One more piece of advice: change up our exercise routines, so we get variety.

Leave a Reply

