Zoey

A dog’s back story

In Cute Dachshunds, Cute Dogs, On Being Cute, Uncategorized on October 9, 2016 at 11:30 am

Zoey-Shelley3

My BFF Shelley thinks I’m cute, obviously!

This week my BFF Shelley blogged about back story, and I thought I’d do the same but about myself.

The back story of how I became the CEO of cuteness is full of tension and excitement.

First off, I was born that way, though that’s not the entire story.

Before I get into that back story, I’ll tell you about the exciting current moment, or the now. I’m seven, but I’m told I still look young—I have bright white teeth and a cute, darling face (I’m also told this). I don’t actually look at myself in the mirror, but I hear how I’m cute, pretty, beautiful and what a face! I know, I know.

Shelley got me when I was nine weeks, and I picked her out. She wanted to hold a puppy after going through some allergy shots, and she held me. I laid my head on her chest, and she was taken. The next day she came back, and I did the same thing and found my new home.

She took me to puppy kindergarten and intermediate training, read tons of training and dog behavior books, and figured out how to be the boss of me (except I didn’t relent on the barking at the big dogs and things with wheels that go by on the sidewalk). I didn’t give her full boss-iness, either, because I established myself as CEO, and she has to accept I’m alpha when it comes to cuteness.

I demonstrate this cuteness when Shelley takes me on walks or with her to coffee shops. I sit (or stand) sentry, watching out for people who will stop and pet me and tell me what I want to hear: that I’m cute and pretty both, that I’m a good girl, that Shelley’s lucky to have me.

I tell them back, in tail wiggles and occasional kisses, I’m lucky to be with her, too. We’re a match, back then and now.

 

Leave a Reply

