Zoey

A Dog’s View: Controversy over Halloween Costumes

In Cute Dachshunds, Cute Dogs, Halloween Costumes on October 1, 2017 at 5:30 pm

Zoey-Halloween4

I am not a witch. I’m a cute dog! I just dressed as a witch for Halloween.

Halloween scares me a little for one big reason.

Though I love the treats I get—an extra rawhide that’s vet-recommended—I don’t like the tricks part of it.

My BFF Shelley likes to dress me up for three reasons: sometimes on Halloween, always on Christmas and whenever it’s cold and we’re outside or on a walk. I’ve been a witch, a mechanic with a pink bandana and a school girl with a tan skirt and white cable knit sweater. And at Christmas, I have to wear my green T-shirt with an image of Santa with one of his reindeer.

But I don’t like it. When I was little, I’d squirm right out of my clothes, or bunch them up, or get my little paw caught in one of the arms. Now that I’m older, I just put up with it.

I’ve done some research and found that dressing up dogs in over-the-top costumes is usually for the pet owners’ benefit and not for the sake of the pet. It’s OK to dress us up to be warm but not if the costume physically restricts our movements or causes discomfort. Shelley puts me in a warm jacket or sweater if it’s cold out, and I like it well enough after I get used to the extra layer and understand I can still walk.

But when large sections of our bodies are covered by material, it’s hard for us to communicate with other dogs, particularly because body language is one of our major methods for expressing ourselves. Granted, I really don’t like other dogs unless they’re smaller than me, though I do like cats. Still, I need to get my message across.

Some dogs become scared or confused when they are dressed up, and some won’t express themselves. Things on our heads, like hats and hoods, can be particularly disturbing, because they’re in the way and we’re not used to them.

Anyway, here are some photos of me in costume, but as you can see, I don’t look that excited. I’d rather have a treat and no tricks and silly costumes.

Zoey2

I’m not very happy in my witch’s hat. My BFF Shelley took a photo and took if off of me, thank goodness!

Zoey12

I am dressed as a mechanic. This costume isn’t as bad because it doesn’t have a hat!

Zoey's new outfit

Why am I wearing a silly bow that matches my silly shirt?

Leave a Reply

